Home > Uncategorized > Hello World

Hello World

Sunday, July 31, 2011 1900 hrs.

First of all, let me thank my friend, Mrs. Mike, http://phoebe53.wordpress.com/  for helping me with this blog. Setup and initiation would not have happened without her help and advice.  I am sure that I will be seeking more.  I will try not to be too big a PITA.

Long story short, I have purchased a travel trailer (29 foot) and plan to live in the woods by myself.  It is not new, but in decent shape. Most of the appliances work and those that don’t work don’t matter. I can park it on a piece of land that I do not own; it is a deer hunting lease, with very liberal rules. This lease could last many years or stop next year. Again, the unknown. I have 365 day per year access. It also has electricity available. It is in the southeast, so extreme cold for long periods of time will not be an issue.

Know this, I am not yet destitute. This is why I am choosing this route, to prevent becoming destitute. I could not survive very long living under a bridge, with God knows who or what sleeping beside me every night. I will not sponge off of my family. I guess I have been the provider so long, I can’t change that. This is, with my mentality, the only option at this time. I have worked every year of my life beginning at 10 years old, selling “spudnuts” in El Paso, Texas, door to door. (Donuts made from potato flour, I hear they are the best). I have paid into SS for 43 years, the maximum for the last 12. I am 60 ½ years old and recently lost my job. I could no longer deal with the corporate and managerial bullshit that I have tolerated for the last 31 years, so I quit voluntarily.

I went through a divorce 4 years ago that pretty much left me broke. I have made good money for the last many years, so I have enough to put this in place. How long will it last? We will see, but my best guess is 12 to 14 months with no further income. I have filed for SSD, waiting for the outcome on that. I will need (or want) cell phone and internet access. This is my connection to the real world. Costs on those will be considered over the next week or two. Meds (without insurance are $500 monthly, so I have decided to take only the essentials for $260). Anyway, I have chosen this lifestyle as my own. I will be almost totally alone for most of the year, but during hunting season, November through January, there will be some people in camp on select weekends. Everyone has their own schedule. I hear that Thanksgiving is a big week up there. I will be 4 ½ hours from my sister and 6 hours from my daughters. If loneliness and boredom get unbearable, I can travel to see them. I would kill or die for any one of them.

Anyway, I will be moving the trailer to the spot on or before August 26.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 2, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Good luck Zuk. Let me know if we can be of assistance. Welcome to the blogosphere.

    Mr. Mike

  2. August 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Excellent first post. I almost envy you, can’t wait to hear more.

    I wouldn’t be too worried about who you might sleep next to under the bridge if you were to become homeless, I have met many homeless people and they are interesting characters for sure. I led a homeless march on Pres. Bush I summer home in Maine in 1991 and we had bused in many homeless, mostly from the streets of New York and I was fascinated in talking to many of them to find out how and why they became homeless and was surprised that many of them wouldn’t trade it.

    You’re welcome for the help, whatever I can do to help more let me know. You forgot to mention I’m only about 8 hours away, who knows, maybe we’ll come down and visit with you.

    Mrs. Mike

  3. August 2, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    One suggestion on your writing, break it up into paragraphs, makes it easier to read.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

